Home > this and that > The past, the present, and the future walk into a bar.

The past, the present, and the future walk into a bar.

Thursday, February 7, 2013, 22:27 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

It was tense.

That isn’t merely a kick-ass bit of grammar humor; it’s also a good way to begin what I hope will be the post that gets me back into regular blogging. I’m more than a little embarrassed that I’ve only blogged twice since mid-October. A lot has happened and continues to happen, so let’s jump right in, shall we?

The Past

The previous four months were not without incident. In November, I hosted my second annual Thanksgiving dinner, this time without the plumbing calamity that afflicted my 2011 effort. Just over a week later, in early December, my house was broken into and some of my jewelry stolen. My employer moved to a brand new building in January, giving me indoor parking for the first time in my working life. And earlier this week, a visit to Boston to see off the Red Sox’ Florida-bound equipment truck ended with an unexpected trip into Fenway Park’s home clubhouse, courtesy of my BFF, Red Sox president Larry Lucchino. But that’s a story for another post.

The Present

Those of you who haven’t been living in a cave these last few days know that a big snow storm is coming to New England. If it’s as bad as the meteorologists are predicting, it could rival the infamous Blizzard of ’78, a two-day ordeal that ended 35 years ago today.

As usual, the forecasts vary. Right now, AccuWeather is calling for my area (southern Worcester County, near the Massachusetts/Connecticut/Rhode Island “T”) to get blizzard conditions and snow accumulation of “around a foot.” The Weather Channel is calling for 18-24 inches throughout southern New England. The National Weather Service office in Boston includes my location in the blizzard warning area and is predicting snow totals over two feet.

My biggest concern isn’t the snow. Temperatures will be cold enough that it should be the fluffy stuff that is unlikely to weigh down tree limbs and is relative easy to clear. The worst part of a blizzard is the high wind, one of the main characteristics that distinguishes a blizzard from any other big snow storm. All those trees that won’t be damaged by the fluffy snow could be brought down by wind. If they land on power lines, say good-bye to electricity and heat for at least 24 hours.

It’s a good thing I replenished my firewood supply, filled the snow blower with gas, charged my spare cell phone batter, and stocked up on fixings for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

The Future

More so recently than in quite a while, I’ve been pondering my future. None of us really knows what tomorrow will bring, much less next month or next year, but for some reason I am more acutely aware than usual of all the ways that my future is out of my control. Perhaps I’m having a premonition of big changes on the horizon, though I have no idea if they will be bad or good. What I do know is that I am strangely at peace despite the uncertainty. That may not last, especially if something happens not to my liking. For the time being, though, I feel uncharacteristically fine with letting things be.

Categories: this and that
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

