Home > music > Running through My Head

Running through My Head

Wednesday, September 12, 2012, 17:52 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

At the risk of appearing unconcerned about yesterday’s U.S. embassy attacks in the Middle East (I’ll finish my post about it eventually), I just want to vent about a line of song lyrics that has taken up residence in my consciousness.

I was shuffling songs on my mp3 player through my car stereo yesterday afternoon when the 1970s hit song “Thunder Island” came up. Here’s the lyric I can’t turn off:

Now every mile away
And every day
Cuts a little bit deeper

That’s it, the mere dozen words that leapt from the speakers and bored into my brain, apparently determined to torment me indefinitely. I hate when that happens.

At least I’m no longer constantly humming “Do You Know the Way to San Jose?” which was a mental fixture for several days earlier this month when Hal David died.

Categories: music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

