Home > technology, this and that > Smartphone Addiction

Smartphone Addiction

Friday, May 4, 2012, 11:22 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Life was much easier when Apple and BlackBerry were just fruitsMy co-workers regularly accuse me of being inseparable from my BlackBerry. I think their criticism is too harsh. Yes, my phone is the first thing I look at in the morning and the last thing I look at before bed, and I always have it on my person in between, mostly because I have no land line and if I ever lost my cell phone, I’d be up the creek without a paddle. I typically do a crossword puzzle app after lunch and check incoming text messages to see if they need immediate attention (they usually don’t). But it isn’t like I’m looking at it all the time, the way my next-office neighbor always has the radio on.

In further defense of myself, I would like to note that I probably wouldn’t do what my cousin, Lisa, did yesterday: get on the cell phone after coming out of hip replacement surgery to email updates to everyone. There are times when a girl just has to forsake her gadgets in favor of pain meds.

Seriously, though, it’s worth remembering that in the dark ages before we all had smartphones, friends and family had to wait to hear, via an update call from a tired relative or through the grapevine, the condition of a hospitalized loved one. Today, the patient is able to take care of that communication quickly and easily herself. So as much as I chuckled when I saw the image above, I can’t say I agree with it.

But that’s just what you’d expect to hear from an addict.

Categories: technology, this and that
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

