Home > sports > Dodgers Get Some Magic, and Vice-Versa

Dodgers Get Some Magic, and Vice-Versa

Thursday, March 29, 2012, 22:49 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Before I begin tonight’s post, I must pre-emptively ask forgiveness from the sports gods for the sin I am about to commit: saying something nice about a Los Angeles Laker. Actually, he’s a former Laker, though I must admit that even though I’m a Celtics fan, I liked him when he was still playing. I guess that’s two sins. For my self-imposed penance, I will spend this weekend writing the roster of the 1964-65 Boston Celtics five hundred times.

With that preface, I note with some excitement that the aforementioned former Laker, Magic Johnson, is part of a group of investors who are buying the Los Angeles Dodgers. Imagine Bob Cousy or Bill Russell being part-owner of the Red Sox and you get a sense of how big this is for sports.

Why do I like Magic? Here’s my Top Ten List:

10. Even though he is a basketball legend, he’s putting his money on baseball.

9. He is much less of an asshat than Frank and Jamie McCourt.

8. As a player and broadcaster, he always respected his teammates, his opponents, the fans, and the game.

7. He played clean.

6. He willingly revealed his HIV+ status at a time when there was still a lot of prejudice and used his fame to helped overcome that prejudice.

5. He smiles a lot.

4. For all his professional success, he still acted like a kid on Christmas morning when he won Olympic gold for Team USA.

3. Larry Bird is his BFF.

2. That “Rivalry” commercial he and Larry did back in the day still gives me chills.

And the #1 reason why I like Magic Johnson:

1. What’s not go like about a guy named Earvin?

Categories: sports
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

