Home > sports > It’s March! I’m Mad!

It’s March! I’m Mad!

Wednesday, March 14, 2012, 16:34 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Notwithstanding my post of one year ago, I find myself mildly interested in this year’s college basketball tournament. What has changed from past years?

  1. My cousin, P.J. Santavenere, played for St. Francis College (NY) this past season. While he didn’t get a lot of playing time and the team didn’t make the tournament, his presence in Division I had me periodically checking college basketball box scores for the first time in my life.
  2. P.J.’s cousin, Andre Drummond, is the starting center for perennial contender UConn. Andre isn’t actually related to me, but he was mentored by my cousin Phil, who is Andre’s uncle-by-marriage and P.J’s father. Phil would be thrilled to see Andre play deep into the tourney.
  3. The Den Mother’s Father’s alma mater, St. Bonaventure University, is in the tournament for the first time since 2000, when they lost to Kentucky in the first round. DMF doesn’t expect them to go far but would like to be proved wrong.

Apparently, they don’t allow you to be even the most casual observer of college basketball without making your own bracket, which I have done using the highly technical “eeny-meeny” method. Actually, I made two, but both ended up with the same national champion, Michigan State. Here’s the one I’m sticking my neck out with. Click on the image to view larger. And please don’t laugh. I only put about 7 minutes of thought into it.

NCAA 2012 bracket

If I crash and burn in the first round, I will be neither surprised nor disappointed. I have no money on this, being the unluckiest person in the world (I like to say that I play the Massachusetts state lottery when I think Deval needs another dollar). For those of you more invested, and most of all for the teams, I wish you the very best of luck.

Categories: sports
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

