Home > this and that > Six Pictures Most People Wouldn’t Bother Taking

Six Pictures Most People Wouldn’t Bother Taking

Monday, February 20, 2012, 22:46 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

If I were a tourist, I’d have taken more typical photos during today’s trip to Boston’s Museum of Science with the Den Son and Nephew #2. But I wasn’t a tourist, and I’m not typical. Here are a few shots most people wouldn’t have thought to capture.

1. Everyone is dressed for winter in New England. This life-sized model of Tyrannosaurus Rex had a scarf to keep him warm, because it’s windy and chilly down there by the water.

T. Rex with a scarf - Museum of Science, Boston, MA

2. Look, Mom, it’s that gecko from TV! While I generally avoid creepy crawly things, these colorful specimens from the museum’s current gecko exhibit looked damn close to that insurance company’s famous spokesgecko.

Colorful geckos - Museum of Science, Boston, MA

3. I thought only holy Nazarean women could do this. The text reads in part, “A few gecko populations consist entirely of females—they reproduce by cloning.” What’s the fun in that?

"Virgin birth" and geckos - Museum of Science, Boston, MA

4. A satellite’s eye view of Cape Cod. This interactive exhibit is like Google Maps, but without artificial labeling of boundaries, cities, or roads. Here is one of my favorite places.

Cape Cod image - Museum of Science, Boston, MA

5. When I was your age, Pluto was a planet. I already regret not buying this t-shirt from the museum gift shop. Call me sentimental, but in my heart, Pluto will always be our ninth planet.

Pluto, R.I.P. - Museum of Science, Boston, MA

6. You never know what you’ll see on the subway. A man sitting across from us on the T was wearing these shoes with individual toes, like gloves for feet. I’ve never seen anything like them.

Shoes with toes

Next time I visit the Museum of Science, maybe I’ll take pictures of the rest room signs that explain how sewage treatment works.

Categories: this and that
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

