Home > faith/religion, holidays, love > To All You Lovers Out There

To All You Lovers Out There

Tuesday, February 14, 2012, 07:00 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Heart cookiesHappy Valentine’s Day. I hope those of you who have someone special with whom to celebrate enjoy yourselves. I can count on one hand the number of Valentine’s Days for which I’ve had a boyfriend, so it’s just another day for me, working all day and then doing nothing unusual at home this evening. Maybe I’ll pop in a DVD. Or wash my kitchen floor. Or something.

In 21st century culture, Valentine’s Day, at least as celebrated in North America, is a hyper-commercialized excuse for florists, greeting card companies, and chocolatiers to make a buck. But it’s also a good opportunity for people in love to remind each other of their feelings, which they can do sincerely at little or no cost. I have done so for the Love of My Life here, for his eyes only.

For the rest of you, I’m happy to provide a (very) little historical background, because I consider it my solemn duty as a blogger to edify my audience every so often. Saint Valentine was a third century Roman priest who, tradition states, aided jailed martyrs and was subsequently himself martyred for refusing to renounce his Christian faith. How he came to be associated with romantic couples is not certain, but the pairing of love and martyrdom gives new meaning to the phrase “I love you to death,” doesn’t it?

Categories: faith/religion, holidays, love
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

