Home > sports > Here’s How Much of a Sap I Am

Here’s How Much of a Sap I Am

Wednesday, November 30, 2011, 22:44 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

Phil Kessel is bummed out against the BruinsI actually felt a twinge of sadness over the Boston Bruins’ 6-3 win over the Toronto Maple Leafs tonight. See, I kinda have this thang for a guy who’s a big Leafs fan, and while I definitely wanted the Bruins to win, I could imagine his angst at watching the B’s piling on.

Now it would be an entirely different matter if I were in love with a Canadiens fan—or, to put an even finer point on it, a Yankees fan. Check that: I could never even date a Yankees fan. It’s bad enough that I have to be related to two of them by blood. Why would I voluntarily sign up for that shit? Please.

But I digress. One person I feel decidedly un-sorry for is Toronto’s Phil Kessel, who could have been on the winning end if he’d quit his whining a couple seasons back. Apparently he really wanted to play there, which is a lesson in “be careful what you wish for.” Not that the Leafs suck this season; on the contrary, if they had managed just one win against the Bruins so far, they’d be leading the division right now. I wonder if Boston’s one-point lead over Toronto makes my Leafs fan feel any better…

Wait, what am I saying? A one-point lead? This is war, and there is no room for sympathy in war, especially not a war this close. There, I don’t feel so sappy any more.

Categories: sports
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

