Home > technology > A Sucker Born Every Minute

A Sucker Born Every Minute

Tuesday, September 6, 2011, 15:58 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

No one with an email address for more than a few weeks hasn’t experienced spam. Often, the messages are advertisements designed to lure unsuspecting victims into buying questionable products and services such as mortgages with guaranteed approval, designer apparel, get-rich-quick programs, herbal impotence treatments. But not everyone spreading spam is in it for the money. Some are merely trying to wreak havoc. Consider two messages that came into my mailbox today within an hour of one another, this one:

Big hugs and noisy kisses are sent your way by somebody special. If you want to receive them now and read a [sic] exceptional message for you, View Here

And a more desperate version:

I can’t sleep, I can’t eat, I can’t do anything but think of you. I am so obsessed with you. Please get me out of my misery. I have given you an eCard to let you accept how I feel. take [sic] a peek at your message Here

In the messages, what I show as underlined text were hyperlinks to URLs that, when loaded, might very well initiate download of malware or some other virus. Messages like this are nothing new, but not until recently have I noticed them taking the form of a come-on. One marvels at the gullibility of anyone who could actually click on the link, thinking it’s really a message from an admirer. Some people really will do anything for love.

Categories: technology
  1. Missy
    Friday, January 27, 2012, 17:53 EDT at 17:53

    I received one of these emails today too. I didn’t click the link, but I do like the come-on line.

    Everyone deserves ‘big hugs and noisy kisses’…(just don’t click the link!)

    🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

