Home > love, remember > Alone with My Thoughts

Alone with My Thoughts

Sunday, July 10, 2011, 18:53 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

Love never endsAt about this time a year ago (not this date, but 52 Sundays ago), I saw the love of my life for the first time in more than 24 years.

He knew I was coming into town, and I knew he was going to be on vacation. His plans changed at some point after I made mine, and as fate would have it, there would be a span of perhaps 18 hours when we would be just a few miles from one another. I drove to his house late Sunday morning and left a note in his mailbox telling him where he could find me if he so chose. He so chose.

Like so much of our time together, our visit was short but meaningful. I deliberately avoided thinking about it for most of today while I went to church, ironed laundry, did yard work, ran errands, and visited my family. Now I’m sitting in the evening shade of my patio, drinking a glass of wine, finally letting myself remember, wondering if he got home from vacation and remembered too, and thinking that my heart will never be whole again.

Categories: love, remember
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

