Home > this and that > Interesting Happenings While I Was Away

Interesting Happenings While I Was Away

Sunday, June 26, 2011, 17:59 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

Of course, as soon as I declared my mini-vacation from blogging, I started hearing about all kinds of really interesting stories. I saved links to some of the best, because the world anxiously awaits my commentary.

The FBI Always Gets Their Man

Make that two—count ’em, TWO!—of the FBI’s most-wanted fugitives ticked off the list in under two months. While Seal Team Six gets the credit for going to Pakistan and sending Osama bin Laden to his maker, the Bureau captured accused killer Whitey Bulger all on their own. A kingpin in Boston’s Irish Mob, Bulger went on the lam 16 years ago after being tipped off by the Special Agent who was taking care of Bulger in exchange for ratting out other organized crime figures. My late friend Bruce, who spend 30 years in the FBI and knew the dirty agent who let Bulger walk, would be very gratified by the news of this arrest.

He’s Just Not That Into You

Ever wonder why gay rights activists love Barack Obama? It sure isn’t because he’s fighting their fight in Washington. Gay Patriot comments on the President’s all-talk-and-no-action approach and counsels gay Democrats that “Obama just wants your money, like the cute boy who sweet talks you at the bar while ordering a $20 cocktail, then reaches for his wallet, only to feign shock when he just can’t find it.” Believe it or not, at least on the issue of marriage, the most GLBT-friendly President or Vice President we’ve ever had was Dick Cheney.

This Seems to Be a Pattern

I never cease to be horrified to read about stories like the one about a Bangladeshi woman who was blinded by her jealous husband. The woman is a graduate student in British Columbia but was in her native country when she was attacked. Apparently, her husband didn’t want her to further her education and decided that if he gouged out her eyes, she’d have to quit school. Islam is the overwhelmingly predominant religion in Bangladesh. How much do you want to bet that the husband is Muslim? Whenever something like this happens, it’s a safe bet that the perpetrator is Muslim.

She Was Dead, but Not Dead-Dead

Did you hear about the woman who woke up at her own funeral? You wouldn’t think such a thing could happen in the 21st century, but that’s exactly what happened recently to a Russian woman. After being declared dead by doctors at a local hospital, “she later woke up – in a coffin surrounded by sobbing relatives. She started screaming after realizing she was about to be buried alive.” She promptly had a heart attack and really died. Bummer.

I’ve Never Been So Insulted

Like probably everyone else online, I get a lot of spam. Junk email. Worthless stuff that only clogs up my inbox and makes my thumb sore from repeatedly hitting the delete key on my BlackBerry. Last week, I linked to an old post I wrote on the topic of spam. But one that landed in my inbox on Thursday takes the cake. The subject was “Exclusive Site for Senior Singles.” Excuse me? First, I am not a senior. While it is true that I have more gray hair than a lot of people my age, I would not qualify for any senior citizen discount anywhere I’ve ever been. Besides, I’m not available. Single, yes, but not available. So I’m no more interested in this “exclusive site” than in penis enlargement treatments or Nigerian banking partnerships.

Categories: this and that
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

