Home > massachusetts and new england, weather & climate > Tornado Alley, New England Edition

Tornado Alley, New England Edition

Thursday, June 2, 2011, 10:15 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Wasn’t it just a week or so ago that I wrote about tornadoes in Massachusetts? As if on cue, Mother Nature reared her vicious head yesterday afternoon in the form of multiple twisters throughout western and central Massachusetts. It’s seldom a good thing when events like this hit CNN, and indeed there are currently four known deaths from the storms. We pray the number doesn’t rise as officials and survivors search for the missing.

My parents spent about 45 minutes in their cellar around supper time amid reports that there was a tornado on the ground and headed toward their town, but luckily it never got there. I feel very fortunate that my town was spared as well, since the tornadoes closest to me passed through the town just to my north. My co-workers in communities that suffered damage are also safe, though one is without electricity.

I hope to blog more as the day progresses and we get news updates. For the time being, though, I am dealing with my own self-inflicted issues. Shortly after I awoke this morning, I managed to slip on my stairs and go tumbling down to the landing below, where I lay in a heap muttering, “Ow, ow, ow,” for about five minutes. My backside, right knee, and left hip seem to have taken the brunt of my misstep, and as I type this I am lying in bed on my stomach with ice packs on my tush. I feel like a fool, but I’d rather be in this predicament than the one faced by the folks who are coming to terms with the aftermath of yesterday’s killer storms.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

