Home > this and that > I Was Happier When…

I Was Happier When…

Friday, May 27, 2011, 13:31 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

They say ignorance is bliss. While “bliss” might be too strong a word, I can verify that I was varying degrees of happier when…

  • …the Red Sox were reigning World Series champions.
  • …food, clothes, and a place to live just showed up, paid for by Ma and Daddy.
  • …G and I were on the Cape.
  • …my car still had four hubcaps.
  • …I thought the specks in my kitchen floor were part of the pattern, not dirt ground into itty-bitty crevices in the tiles.
  • …Shrewsbury’s Center Dairy Bar was open and the Town & Country Lanes had candlepin bowling.
  • …my cousins and I played on the swings at Edna C. Stevens School behind our grandparents’ house.
  • …I was 40 pounds lighter.
  • …we had bonfires on the beach that summer in Antigonish County, Nova Scotia.
Categories: this and that
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

