Home > faith/religion, sports, weather & climate > The Wheels on the Bus Go ‘Round and ‘Round

The Wheels on the Bus Go ‘Round and ‘Round

Friday, May 20, 2011, 08:41 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

(UPDATE: Added a links and categories.)

Good morning, readers, and welcome to my morning commute, courtesy of the WordPress app on my BlackBerry, not to mention the nice people at the WRTA and the taxpayers who subsidize it. I’m back on the bus because, you know, gasoline isn’t getting any cheaper.

The 55 minute ride gives me an opportunity to share my morning stream of consciousness, which today consists of the following:

  • How about those Bruins? God help me, every game, I believe a little bit more. Do you think that if they win it all, they’ll do a statewide Cup Tour the way the Sox did a Trophy Tour in ’04 and ’07? I realize we haven’t waited four generations since the last Bruins’ Stanley Cup, but sometimes it feels that way. Oh, and Tim Thomas? God, with a lower-case “g.”
  • This May 21 apocalypse thing is a great big pile of dung. How do I know? I read my bible, where it says right there in Matthew 24:36, “But the exact day and hour? No one knows that, not even heaven’s angels, not even the Son. Only the Father knows.” You can look it up. So anyone who claims to know isn’t just wrong, he/she is also purporting to know something even Jesus doesn’t know. Where I come from, that’s blasphemy. Thus concludes today’s sermon by the Reverend Den Mother.
  • I really need some good weather. It’s been cool and drizzly since last weekend. My fear is that we’re in for another quasi-spring-followed-by-lousy-summer like we had last year.
  • My potted parsley and basil are growing like crazy! Next week I’ll separate them and give some to my mother, thereby cementing my status as Favorite Offspring. There’s nothing like fresh sweet basil to win over an Italian woman.

Wow, time flies when you’re having fun, or when you’re trying to type an entire blog post on a keyboard smaller than a business card. I’m almost at my destination, plus I’m getting a tad motion sick, so it’s time to sign off. Happy Friday.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

