Home > home ownership > Sights and Sounds of Roof Work

Sights and Sounds of Roof Work

Thursday, March 10, 2011, 15:55 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

The truck pulled up out front at 7:10am yesterday. Several men jumped out and sprang into motion. At 7:15, there were ladders up all around the house and tarps everywhere. At 7:20, the workers began stripping two layers of old, worn, cracked shingles. That’s when the noise started.  (Check back after the weekend in a few days for a sound clip because, yes, I actually did record about 15 seconds of the racket just overhead.)

Workers strip the roof

Wednesday, 8:10am: Workers strip the old roof (click to view larger)

I stood at the window eating my breakfast cereal and watching in wonder. Everyone knew where he was supposed to be and what he was supposed to do, and he did it. There were almost as many people on the ground preparing materials as there were on the roof. I’d been told that the contractor was bringing extra workers so they could finish in one day, ahead of the rain coming overnight (which, as of now, hasn’t come). Even if they had to come back next week and put up the rest of the gutters, the roof itself would be done.

Old roof

Old roof, or what can be seen of it from the back (click to view larger)

On Tuesday, I had met with the contractor to select shingles. I had medium gray in mind, but after seeing samples and pictures, I decided on Timberline 30-year architectural shingles in a color called “weathered wood.”

Although I would have loved to stay and watch the work all day, I had work of my own to do. So I stepped out my side door and, dodging flying shingles, headed to my car. I wondered all day how things were going, mildly miffed that I wouldn’t be able to see it when I got home after an a day of work and an evening of tutoring and grocery shopping.

I got a good look at it this morning, and I liked what I saw.  I would like to be able to display before-and-after shots, but I don’t have a good shot of the house with the old roof.  You can probably tell from the picture of the back of the house that it was dark—almost charcoal—gray. What you can’t tell is that it was in rough condition and that the only reason I didn’t get leaks is because the older shingles underneath must have been a sufficient buffer.

Anyway, without further ado, here’s the new roof (click to view larger):

New roofNew roof

I can already hear the collective yawn of my readers, who are saying, “So what? It’s a roof. Everybody has one.” But this is different. It’s my roof. And this house is like a new toy. Even the stuff I have to do is fun.

Next up: a sump pump, because this winter’s great big snow pack has mostly melted and raised the water table up above the floor of my cellar, and having water in the cellar once is more than enough for me.

Categories: home ownership
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

