Home > christmas, music > The Den Mother’s Christmas Music Sampler, Vol. 4

The Den Mother’s Christmas Music Sampler, Vol. 4

Wednesday, December 8, 2010, 07:21 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

(Click here to listen to today’s music in a separate window/tab while you read about it below.)

One of my guilty pleasures at this time of year is the occasional comical and/or irreverent holiday song, just because laughing is never a bad thing. My list for today spans several decades and covers two holidays.

  • It loses the element of surprise after the first time you hear it, but “I Saw Daddy Kissing Santa Claus” is a classic. Comedian Kip Addotta‘s take-off on “I Saw Mommy…” is very 20th century, in a Seinfeldian not-that-there’s-anything-wrong-with-that kind of way. A bonus for children’s music teachers: listen for the key change.
  • Anyone who grew up on cartoon characters voiced by the great Mel Blanc will appreciate “The Hat I Got for Christmas Is Too Big” by Speedy Gonzales. I’m told it isn’t politically correct to like Speedy Gonzales any more. Too bad.
  • If anyone can make the subjects of occupational violence seem funny, Weird Al Yankovic can. And does, with “The Night Santa Went Crazy.”
  • Laughing at Canadians is passé, but Bob and Doug McKenzie’s “The 12 Days of Christmas” is timeless. I still crack up over “the mystery days.”
  • Another 12-days spoof is comedian Bob Rivers‘ “Twelve Pains of Christmas.” The guy trying to put up the Christmas lights is the star, in my opinion.
  • I almost included a third 12-days song, by the men’s a cappella group Straight No Chaser. Instead, I picked their original song “Who Spiked the Eggnog.”
  • Speaking of intoxicants, Cheech and Chong still get me going after all these years with their not-quite-song “Santa Claus and His Old Lady.” Love the image of Chong jamming with the Salvation Army guy.
  • The final entry, in a nod to my Jewish friends and readers, is the original version of “The Chanukah Song” by Adam Sandler. My own Catholic family loves it so much that my son ends up playing it on the guitar by request at least once a year. (The Den Mother’s Mother’s favorite line: “O.J. Simpson: NOT A JEW!”)
Categories: christmas, music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

