Home > holidays, military, remember > Honoring Veterans

Honoring Veterans

Thursday, November 11, 2010, 09:17 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

On this Veterans Day, I want to recognize by name a few living veterans who are close to me. Please join me by honoring the veterans you know.

  • Jon, my cousin, a career Army officer who recently completed a one-year deployment in Afghanistan
  • Tania, his wife, also a career Army officer and a veteran of the Bosnia conflict when she was assigned to NATO
  • Edie, an Army Reserve nurse who recently completed an overseas deployment
  • Eddie, my father’s cousin, who served a tour of duty in Vietnam and then volunteered for another
  • Billy, a town friend, college classmate, and career Marine aviator who was among those flying on the first night of Desert Storm
  • Scott, whom I met through my mother, an officer in the Vermont National Guard who served a one-year deployment in Iraq
  • Randy, my next-door neighbor when I was growing up, a veteran of World War II who fought in the Battle of the Bulge
  • Patrick, a former co-worker who enlisted in the Army Reserve, served a year in Kuwait in the early years of the Iraq war, and when his enlistment was up, enlisted in the Air Force Reserve
  • Sgt. Ahmed Altaie, an Army translator who was captured by terrorists in Iraq four years ago and whose POW-MIA bracelet I wear

Thank you all for your service to our nation.

Categories: holidays, military, remember
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

