Home > life > It Could Be Worse, You Know

It Could Be Worse, You Know

Wednesday, November 10, 2010, 12:07 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Old tiresThanks to last week’s unfortunate raccoon incident, I am now the proud owner of a new wheel rim, two new tires, and a newly aligned front end. At the risk of telling you something you already know, that sh*t is expensive. I realize that prices have gone up in the many years since I last had to buy tires, but man, was I taken by surprise. Combine that with the wedding gift I just bought for my cousin’s daughter and I’m a tad cash-poor this week.

Back in the 1980s, I heard time management consultant Rita Davenport talk about keeping problems in perspective. She told a story of having a problem with her car and being told by the mechanic that the repair would cost $500. As she put it, “I had a choice. I could have cleared off a place in the middle of the garage floor and had a fit in it, or I could have kept my mouth shut and been thankful that I had $500.” She also had a saying: “Don’t tell other people your problems. Half of them don’t want to hear it, and the other half think you deserve it.”

What a good attitude to have. Even though I tend to kvetch from time to time on this blog, I try not to lose sight of how fortunate I am compared to many others around me, such as my two co-workers who are battling what in both cases will probably turn out to be terminal cancer. I would much rather have my problems than be going through what they are or, worse yet, see my child go through it. I can afford a new wheel rim, two new tires, and a front end alignment, not to mention everything I need to live and a fair amount of what I want. My life is good.

Categories: life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

