Home > health/safety > It’s a Good Thing I Know How to Change a Tire

It’s a Good Thing I Know How to Change a Tire

Thursday, November 4, 2010, 22:58 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Woman changing tireI have always believed that anyone who drives should know a few basic things: how to check and add fluids (oil, coolant, power steering fluid, windshield washer fluid), change wiper blades, jump-start a vehicle, check tire air pressure, and change a tire. That last one came in handy for me tonight after I swerved to avoid a raccoon, hit a granite curb, and bent a wheel rim. I was able to pull into a nearby parking lot, where I got out of my car and immediately heard a steady hissing sound. I could have called AAA, but I knew that it would have taken them longer to get there than it would take me to change to the mini spare and be on my way. Being stubbornly self-sufficient, I did it myself.

Now seems like as good a time as any to provide a public service to my readers, in the form of a list of items you should always have in your car, just in case…

  • a quart of motor oil (check your owner’s manual for the proper weight)
  • a container of radiator coolant/water mixture (check your owner’s manual for the proper proportions, which might vary by season)
  • a can of power steering fluid
  • a bottle of windshield washer fluid
  • a pair of wiper blades (measure your blades or check your owner’s manual for correct size or sizes)
  • jumper cables
  • a tire pressure gauge
  • inflated spare tire
  • a jack
  • a lug wrench
  • rags or paper towels

…and illustrated instructions for two of the most important things you might have to do in a pinch.

You’re welcome.

Categories: health/safety
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

