Home > life, love > Treasure Every Moment

Treasure Every Moment

Wednesday, September 8, 2010, 21:14 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s funny how events sometimes come together in a way that makes you think some higher power is trying to make a point. Today is one of those times.

A friend of mine from work lost her husband a few months ago to Legionnaire’s Disease, and today is his birthday. I talked to her briefly this morning, just to let her know I was thinking about her, and reminded her to cherish the memories of her time with him and try to draw strength from them. Apparently, she was already in that frame of mind because she immediately related a story to me that made her smile even as her eyes filled up.

Just a few minutes ago, I finished a difficult telephone conversation with someone close to my heart. Our history is long and rocky, but what has been constant is our love for each other, though we didn’t always know it. Alas, decisions both of us made long ago have kept us mostly apart. But over the last 13+ months, we have experienced many miracles together, not the least of which has been the miracle of time, not a lot of it, but enough to communicate, get to know and understand each other better, and heal old wounds.

Now the time has come for us to part ways, again. I don’t know whether the future will ever bring us back together or, if it does, when that will happen. It is entirely out of my hands. What is in my control is what I do today. I have decided to take my own advice: cherish the memories of the moments we shared and try to draw strength from them.

As the immortal Dr. Seuss once said, “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” In truth, I will probably do both, just like my friend who today remembers her husband. Maybe the love of my own life is gone forever, too. But I will never, ever stop hoping he returns. And I want him to never, ever forget that if he changes his mind, I will be here for him — to use words he wrote to me over 25 years ago — not as a crutch, but as a friend and as a lover.

Categories: life, love
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

