Home > life > Hope for the Future

Hope for the Future

Monday, March 8, 2010, 03:35 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

I have written before about how annoying I find it that young people who work in retail don’t seem to grasp the basics of good manners. But an experience last week restored a bit of of my faith in the younger generation.

It was Thursday night and I went to Burger King to pick up a salad from the drive-through. I placed my order, the voice in the speaker told me the total and asked me to drive up, and I said, “Thank you.” Then the most astonishing thing happened. The voice in the speaker said, “You’re welcome.”

So pleasantly surprised was I that, when I reached the window to pay for my purchase, I complimented the clerk. She seemed amused that a customer would mention something that was, to her, unremarkable. It’s too bad she is the exception among her peers rather than the rule.

Categories: life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

