Home > olympics, sports > The Den Mother’s Olympic Recap: Day 11

The Den Mother’s Olympic Recap: Day 11

Tuesday, February 23, 2010, 18:55 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Sorry there are no pictures in today’s post. I was lucky to get it written at all. I promise to make up for it tomorrow.

Medals were awarded in four more events on Monday. The big news for the host country is that Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir won North America’s first ever Olympic gold medal in ice dancing. That pushes Canada into the double digits in total medals won. Virtue and Moir also became the youngest Olympic ice dancing champions ever (the specialty became an Olympic sport in 1976).

Americans Meryl Davis and Charlie White won silver, as they did four years ago in Turin. The only other U.S. ice dancers to medal in the Olympics were Coleen O’Connor and James Millns in Innsbruck in 1976.

The performances were fun to watch, but some of the costumes were hideous. I’m preparing a separate post just for that.

In a sport as different from figure skating as different can be, medals were also awarded in men’s and women’s cross country team sprint. Those events were kind to Germany, which took the women’s gold and the men’s silver, and Russia, which won bronze in both. A men’s gold by Norway and women’s silver by Sweden rounded out the winners.

The other Nordic event for which medals were given yesterday was team ski jumping, in which the Austrian team crushed its nearest competitors. Germany and Norway won silver and bronze. While watching the jumps, I thought about the dreams I’ve had that I was flying and found myself wondering if that’s what it feels like mid-jump. Not that I ever plan to find out. I like all my bones the way they are, i.e. not broken.

For my money, yesterday’s most important events were the women’s hockey semi-final games. Team USA defeated Sweden 9-1 and Canada beat Finand 5-0, setting the gold medal matchup everyone knew was coming. Have I mentioned that seven of the U.S. women are from New England? I have now. Tune in for the championship game Thursday 6:30 p.m. EST.

Coming up today in men’s hockey are the qualification games, the winners of which will advance to the quarter finals to face the four teams that got a bye. The one I’ll be interested in is Canada vs. Germany, because I want an eventual Canada-USA matchup for the gold there too. I will also be keeping an eye on Switzerland vs. Belarus because the winner will face Team USA tomorrow afternoon.

The Vancouver 2010 web site has more details about results, medals, and schedules.

Categories: olympics, sports
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

