Home > faith/religion > Don’t Be Messing with a Woman Wielding the Holy Spirit

Don’t Be Messing with a Woman Wielding the Holy Spirit

Tuesday, February 16, 2010, 21:50 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

I would have missed this story entirely if it hadn’t been posted on News of the Weird.

[Texas craft boutique owner Marian Chadwick] was finishing a sale with her last customer of the day when a hooded man walked in, pointed a gun at her and demanded money.

Chadwick told him she had none. He pounded the gun twice on the counter.

“I got mad,” said the 57-year old, pursing her lips. “The Texas part of me was challenged. So I pointed my finger and said, ‘In the name of Jesus, you get out of my store. I bind you by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

The gunman took a step back and told customer Kathy Vereen to drop to the floor. After she refused, Chadwick pointed her finger at the man and continued to chastise him. He walked out of the store cursing. He took nothing.

Wouldn’t you just love to know what was going on inside the head of that would-be robber? My guess is something like, “Damn, I don’t want to get struck dead by lightning. But come on, that wouldn’t really happen. Would it? Nah, of course not. On the other hand, if I’m wrong, I could be in deep doo-doo….”

Categories: faith/religion
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

