Home > olympics, sports > Olympic Countdown

Olympic Countdown

Sunday, January 3, 2010, 03:20 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

If you are an Olympic fan like I am, you’ll want to pay attention to the countdown at the top of the blog. The winter Olympics come to us from Vancouver, British Columbia, beginning with ski jumping the morning of February 12 and the Opening Ceremony that evening. Keep in mind that Vancouver is on Pacific Standard Time, so check your local television listings for coverage information and don’t assume that what you’re seeing is live.

My favorite winter Olympic sports have always included alpine skiing and hockey. I used to enjoy figure skating before they abolished the compulsory figures and I found out how corrupt the judging was. In recent years, I have come to appreciate the excitement and sheer lunacy of luge. The sport that captured my fancy during the 2006 Torino games was curling, which I look forward to watching again. My least favorite is snowboarding, but I’ll even watch that.

I have always loved the Olympics. My earliest Olympic memories are of Janet Lynn winning a medal at the 1972 winter games in Sapporo, Japan, and Olga Korbut and Mark Spitz dominating the summer games in Munich, West Germany. The Munich games, of course, were also the site of the massacre of eleven Jewish Israeli athletes by Arab Muslim terrorists, an act antithetical not only to the spirit of Olympism, but to the spirit of humanity as well. The games resumed after a brief pause, which I kept in mind when a tragedy of a smaller scale befell the 1996 summer Olympics in Atlanta, Georgia. Friends know that I attended those games, arriving just hours before the bomb went off. It was remarkable to witness how the games went on, even as officials, athletes, and spectators remembered the dead.

After Atlanta, I built a web page that, I am embarrassed to say, I haven’t updated since 2003. I pledge to rectify that before February 12. I got into pin collecting in Atlanta and have a site about that, too. Unfortunately, my pin collection hasn’t grown much over these last several years, but I hope to make some Vancouver additions if a friend can secure a few on an upcoming trip.

Categories: olympics, sports
  1. Sunday, January 3, 2010, 09:19 EST at 09:19

    I can't wait for the games to start! Finally they're in my hometown, it's like my dreams are coming true… And I'm a big hockey fan, too, looking forward to the tournament, I'm sure it's going to be great…Jay

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

