Home > life > I Almost Forgot…Happy New Year

I Almost Forgot…Happy New Year

Saturday, January 2, 2010, 04:05 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

I rang in 2010 (pronounced “twenty-ten” and not, contrary to popular opinion, the beginning of a new decade) in unremarkable fashion. I was in bed, comfortable in my Red Sox pajama bottoms and Red Sox/Red Cross t-shirt, surfing the web on my BlackBerry. I had been out earlier, first bowling in the late afternoon with the Den Son and future Den Daughter-in-Law, then seeing a movie with a friend. It was all designed to be a relaxing and drama-free celebration, enjoyable while still getting me off the road before all the drunks headed back home. What I didn’t count on was a mid-movie evacuation of the cinema for reasons still unknown and not covered by any local news media. We belatedly completed our New Year’s Eve festivities this evening, getting into the movie on our stubs from last night and upgraded for free to the Director’s Hall.

But how we begin or end a year is never as significant as what we do in between. Have you ever had a year that turned out in a way you could not possibly have foreseen when it started? That was 2009 for me. It is not an exaggeration to say I was forced to rethink the premise of my entire adult life. In a way, I feel like the events that unfolded were merely a springboard to whatever is going to happen next. And if that is true, then 2010 will be the year in which the trajectory for the rest of my life will be set. I don’t know if I’ll be happier in 364 days than I am now, but I hope to be in less emotional turmoil.

May it be so for us all.

Categories: life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

