Home > architecture, visual arts > Odd Juxtaposition

Odd Juxtaposition

Wednesday, December 23, 2009, 15:50 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

click to view largerThis sitting area is in the upstairs foyer of the building that houses my therapist’s office. I had half-noticed it before, but on my way out yesterday, I stopped to look at it for the first time.

The building itself is old, perhaps late 19th century and likely built as a home when Worcester was a thriving industrial city. The woodwork throughout is magnificent. The style of the rugs and stair runners is consistent with the building design, yet the current owners/occupants have chosen to adorn the walls with contemporary art. Here they have placed a very large abstract painting with a pair of chairs that would have been at home when the building was new. The grouping caught and held my attention for about a minute while I viewed it as I might view a sculpture in a museum. Interestingly, I never had the urge to sit down. Does that mean it succeeds visually but fails functionally?

Categories: architecture, visual arts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

