Home > visual arts > I Got This News a Little Late

I Got This News a Little Late

Thursday, December 17, 2009, 12:20 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

While perusing a Boston Globe online feature about 2009 celebrity deaths, I noticed that American artist Andrew Wyeth died in January. This isn’t particular significant to me, except that he and I share a birthday.

Wyeth is probably best known for his Helga pictures, but I always considered “Master Bedroom” to be my favorite. I love the way the light falls through the window onto the bed spread. (The portrayal of light and shadow is also what attracts me to many of John Singer Sargent‘s works.) I would like it even more if the dog weren’t there. I know, without the dog, it wouldn’t be the same painting. I’m just thinking about all the shedding.

Categories: visual arts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

