Home > christmas, military > ‘Tis the Season to Be Nice to a Soldier

‘Tis the Season to Be Nice to a Soldier

Thursday, December 10, 2009, 16:00 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

Military personnel have a special place in my heart. Several of my college classmates completed the ROTC program and received commissions when they graduated; some of them remain in the service. I have worn a POW-MIA bracelet since 2004, first for Capt. Scott Speicher and now for Sgt. Ahmed Altaie. I still maintain web sites I started after the start of the Afghanistan war in memory of American and international casualties and in honor of American military missing and captured. My son has friends in the military, including one who was killed in action in Iraq. I am a Soldier’s Angel and currently have two adopted service members, one soldier and one Marine, to whom I send letters and packages.

Besides all that, my cousin and his wife are both active duty Army officers. He deployed to Afghanistan last summer, and even though he is not in a combat role, we are understandably concerned about him. Kabul isn’t the safest place in the world at the moment. So I was thrilled to see this video message to his parents, my aunt and uncle, showing Jon looking and acting great.

To Jon, Bill O., Tom, Chrissy, Ramon, Joshua, Bill V., Ahmed, and all others serving, the Den Mother and many others have you in our thoughts and prayers this Christmas.

Categories: christmas, military
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

