Home > law & justice, music > Country Music on My MP3 Player

Country Music on My MP3 Player

Monday, November 23, 2009, 21:23 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

The Den Mother has been accused of many things over the years, but being a country music fan isn’t one of them. I have a solitary country music song on my mp3 player currently, however, and I must admit it’s growing on me.

Justice is the one thing you should always find
You got to saddle up your boys
You got to draw a hard line
When the gun smoke settles, we’ll sing a victory tune
We’ll all meet back at the local saloon
We’ll raise up our glasses against evil forces
Singing whiskey for my men, beer for my horses

The song is “Beer for My Horses” by Toby Keith with Willie Nelson. I had never heard the song until a couple months ago, and admit that I had previously heard of Toby Keith but wouldn’t recognize him if he walked up to me and said, “Hi, I’m Toby Keith.” Is he old and scruffy like Willie, or young and smooth like…er, like whatever current country music star is young and smooth?

Notwithstanding my ignorance, I was introduced to this particular song by a friend who was involved in litigation against an enormous mega-corporation, a sort of David-vs.-Goliath situation, from what he has told me. Apparently “Beer for My Horses” became the theme song of the litigation team, who saw their quest as a fight for justice again the evil forces of mega-corp. I’m told the good guys lost, but they really won, which I can’t say I understand because I have never heard the full story.

Anyway, I believe this officially marks, if not a turning point, then at least an expansion of my musical exposure. I don’t expect to load up the player with Kenny Chesney, Taylor Swift, Reba McEntire, or Rascal Flatts. (Ha! How about that? OK, I plucked those names from an online list of the 2009 Country Music Awards nominees. I have actually heard of all of them, and I would even recognize Reba if she walked up to me. But I digress.) But this Toby Keith song will join Willie Nelson (“On the Road Again” from the Forrest Gump soundtrack) and Johnny Cash (“God’s Gonna Cut You Down” from a video I saw on the internet after September 11) as proof that I do, in fact, listen to all kinds of music, if not a lot of it.

By the way, G, I’d still like to hear the B story…

Categories: law & justice, music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

