Home > life, love, remember > There’s Always Something There to Remind Me

There’s Always Something There to Remind Me

Thursday, November 5, 2009, 17:32 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

I walk along the city streets you used to walk along with me
And every step I take reminds me of just how we used to be

I would apologize for quoting cheesy ’80s love song lyrics, but the song was actually written more than 45 years ago by Burt Bacharach and Hal David, then covered by Naked Eyes in 1983. So it’s really a cheesy ’60s love song.

Anyway, have you ever tried to get your mind off something or someone, only to repeatedly see and hear things that draw your attention right back? That has been my day so far. Don’t worry if the following makes no sense to you; trust me that there is indeed a pattern there, and it made the morning a challenge.

  1. While looking for a reasonably convenient parking space in my designated employee lot this morning, I noticed two Mercedes sedans. I don’t recall ever before seeing a Mercedes in that particular parking lot.
  2. Music is good for the soul, but it can also evoke unwelcome emotions. To avoid the latter, I left my mp3 player at home and instead brought in a CD I ordered last week that arrived by UPS yesterday: The Rensselaer Anthology, a collection of songs either about my alma mater or performed by music organizations there. The RPI Fight Song should be pretty safe, right? Alas, being a big hockey school, any RPI collection must also include the two national anthems most likely to be performed at a hockey game, “The Star Spangled Banner” and “O Canada.” Had I read the product description before ordering, I would have been prepared for that.
  3. What more foolproof distraction from life’s tribulations could there be than an online feature about the most stylish Bostonians of 2009? That was my expectation when I clicked to view a Boston Globe feature on that very topic. I didn’t expect to see among the honorees Carol Sawyer Parks of Sawyer Enterprises, developer of Starwood Hotels and Resorts’ new W Boston Hotel.
  4. Finally, my first instinct upon hearing an hour and a half ago that Boston Bruins forward David Krejci has swine flu was to forward the text message bearing the news to the biggest hockey fan I know, who also happens to be the person the above three incidents reminded me of.

The moral of the story, I suppose, is that some days just aren’t meant to be easy.

Categories: life, love, remember
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

