Home > massachusetts and new england, remember > In Memory of Monty

In Memory of Monty

Sunday, August 23, 2009, 23:52 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

Worcester Tornadoes and former Red Sox minor league pitcher Greg Montalbano died Friday after battling cancer off and on throughout his adult life.

I was stunned when my mother mentioned this to me after seeing it in this morning’s newspaper. Last season, while Montalbano was undergoing treatment for a recurrence of what was originally testicular cancer, the Tornadoes had an enormous get-well card that fans could sign at a couple of the games. If I had followed the team more closely this season (I’ve only been to two games), I might have known how serious his condition was.

Montalbano grew up in this area and was an alumnus of St. John’s High School, which my brother and son also attended. As a Tornadoes player pitching in front of his hometown crowd, he was like every fan’s son or brother. So this is sad for us fans, even those like me who didn’t know him. My prayers go out to his family and friends, and especially his sister, who now joins me and millions of heartbroken others in a club to which no young person should have to belong.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

