Home > stupidity > Hunger Strike, Fast, or Quasi-Diet?

Hunger Strike, Fast, or Quasi-Diet?

Sunday, July 23, 2006, 23:15 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

First, Cindy Sheehan and other anti-Bushers were going on a hunger strike until the United States pulled troops out of Iraq. Then they were going on a “rolling hunger strike“, which apparently meant that a bunch of people were going to have a one-day hunger strike (something that doesn’t come close to the five days I went without eating anything the last time I had the flu, but I digress).

Now it turns out that Ms. Sheehan is just cutting back a bit.

I find traveling out of the country very challenging … being on a fast. When I was on a layover in Madrid on my way to Venice, Italy yesterday, the closest thing I could find to a smoothie to get a little protein was a coffee with vanilla ice cream in it.

I’ve heard of a water fast (undertaken by Mohandes Gandhi a couple times), a bread and water fast (a common religious fast throughout history), and a juice fast (done primarily for health reasons). But I must admit that I’ve never heard of a protein smoothie and ice cream fast. What a joke.

I’m sure that Cindy Sheehan and her merry band of malcontents are convinced they aren’t getting any media attention because the Bush apologists in the mainstream media want to censor their brave and noble efforts to return Iraq to an iron-fisted dictatorship. Perhaps they should consider that they might be taken more seriously when they do something serious.

Categories: stupidity
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

