Home > this and that > Happiness Is a New, Higher Capacity, More Efficient, Energy-Saving Air Conditioner

Happiness Is a New, Higher Capacity, More Efficient, Energy-Saving Air Conditioner

Tuesday, May 30, 2006, 19:48 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

For the last many summers, my entire apartment has been cooled (and I use the term loosely) by an old, small, window air conditioning unit that’s designed for a single room about 10×10 feet. I called it “the little air conditioner that could” because it would chug along, compressor running non-stop, in a valiant effort to keep up with the rising temperature and humidity. It didn’t do a very good job and it more than doubled my monthly electric bill.

About a year ago, I bought a new air conditioner on sale at the Christmas Tree Shop. For reasons too ridiculous to mention, it sat in the carton in a corner of my living room until I finally installed it last night. The exercise was like a comedy routine featuring little ol’ me wielding an assortment of screwdrivers, screws, and brackets along with jury-rigged wood supports, trying to strike a compromise between the instructions for proper installation and a window that an air conditioner isn’t really designed to go into. Let’s just say that I have several screws and brackets left over, but I’m reasonably confident that the air conditioner isn’t going anywhere until I remove it in the fall.

The new appliance ran for about 90 minutes. Then the compressor went off, not because it wasn’t working properly, but because it had actually reduced the temperature in the room from 81°F to 74°. The old unit couldn’t have done that in 90 hours.

I slept in cool, dry, air-conditioned comfort last night. I showered and dressed this morning without sweating like a stuffed pig. Of course, my back, neck, and shoulders hurt from lifting the damn thing into the window all by myself. But believe me, it was worth it.

Categories: this and that
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

