Home > olympics, sports > Let the Games Begin

Let the Games Begin

Friday, February 10, 2006, 14:47 EST Leave a comment Go to comments

OK, so I have been terribly delinquent in giving any sort of thought or attention to the upcoming Winter Olympics, beginning tonight. I haven’t updated my Olympic pages since Hector was a pup. I don’t know who the favorites are in any of the sports, and I haven’t heard of most of the U.S. competitors. I haven’t mapped out my television viewing schedule to ensure that I miss as little of interest to me as possible.

The Den Mother comes before you in humility to rectify all that, beginning with this first of many Torino updates over the next two weeks.

The northwestern Italian city of Torino, better known to Anglos as Turin (as in the Shroud of), is hosting its first Olympics ever. It remains to be seen whether the sporting events will manage to overshadow the considerable problems, but I promise to do my part to comment on some of the more notable aspects of the big event.

In the meantime, U.S. viewers can find out which television channels are carrying Olympic coverage by going to NBC.com. Those with cable or satellite TV service will have access to much more coverage, as MSNBC, CNBC, USA Network, and other NBC affiliated channels will televise events in addition to NBC’s broadcast network.

Stay tuned and enjoy the Games.

Categories: olympics, sports
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

