Home > Uncategorized > Female Antidotes to Testosterone

Female Antidotes to Testosterone

Tuesday, July 20, 2004, 00:51 EDT Leave a comment Go to comments

I published the following on January 1, 1998 on a feminist web site I used to run. I reproduce it here, even though 1) it obviously isn’t anywhere near the Super Bowl, and 2) many of the sites I originally linked to are no longer available. Rather than replace them, I’ll just leave you with the sites that still exist.

In the interest of full disclosure, I should also acknowledge that since I wrote this piece, our hometown team, the New England Patriots, has played in and won two Super Bowls. I watched and enjoyed them both.


At the risk of sounding sexist, the Super Bowl is a guy thing. That is not to say that there are not women who like football, who follow football, who know alot about football, who could quote stats and scores until doomsday. But think about it for a minute—have you ever heard of a Stupor Bowl party attended only by men? Of course you have. But have you ever heard of one attended only by women? Neither have I.

(UPDATE: On the day of the AFC Championship game in 2002, I attended a baby shower. The mother-to-be sat at one end of the room, the TV was on at the other end of the room, and we went back and forth between the two.)

Count me among those women who could care less about the Stupid Bowl (unless the home town team is in it). But since the other member of my household is a big football fan and has already reserved the television for January 25, I have turned to the internet for alternate entertainment on that day. What follow are my picks for a woman-empowering day of ‘net surfing during the National Day of Testosterone.

Women Artists

Women have long been active in the arts, and I have found a couple excellent web sites dedicated to the subject. One is called Women Artists in History [page no longer available] which lists women artists by century and includes links to artist pages. I also like the home page of the International Alliance for Women in Music.

Among my personal favorite web sites to visit are those celebrating some famous dead women artists, like rock/blues singer Janis Joplin [page no longer available], comedienne Lucille Ball of I Love Lucy [page no longer available] fame, painter Georgia O’Keeffe, and poet Emily Dickinson [page no longer available].

Women’s History

Just as women have impacted the arts, they have also shaped the course of history. Perhaps the best known figure in women’s history is Susan B. Anthony, whose name is synonymous with the struggle for women’s right to vote. Anthony was active at the time when women were organizing the first national women’s right’s convention [page no longer available] in Worcester, Massachusetts.

You probably didn’t know that many of the founding mothers of the American women’s movement were strongly opposed to abortion. Intrigued? You can read more about the subject at Prolife Feminism On-line [page no longer available].

Business Women

Perhaps because of the "glass ceiling" we encounter in the corporate world, women are amply represented among small business owners. As a self-employed woman, I use the internet to promote my calligraphy business, and I would like to invite you to check it out. I call it Special Touch [page temporarily unavailable].

But I’m not the only woman entrepreneur on the ‘net. A few hundred others have come together on the Field of Dreams Web Ring of women in business. I’m sure they would appreciate it if you visited their pages as well.

Women Athletes

My previous commentary about women in sports can be found in the WomanPower! Archives [page no longer available]. But at this particular time of year (which also happens to be basketball season) I thought it would be appropriate to direct you to the web site of the American Basketball League [league defunct, page no longer available], a women’s league now in its second season.

Of course, women play other sports as well. My favorite sport is baseball, and the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, New York has section of their web site dedicated to women in baseball [page no longer available]. For those who would like to explore women’s participation in a multitude of other sports, check out Just Sports for Women [page no longer available].

Menstruation

What could be more anti-macho than menstruation? For the ultimate Super Bowl protest, take a few minutes to browse the on-line site of the Museum of Menstruation.

Then go one step farther by checking out some products you won’t see advertised during the big game: tampons and sanitary pads. Lara’s discussion of alternative menstrual products has a comprehensive list of links to companies that provide items like chlorine-free tampons and reusable cloth pads. My choice for the company with the best name is Glad Rags.

(UPDATE: I have now tried several brands of cloth menstrual pads, including GladRags, LunaPads, and Pandora Pads. In the past year, I haven’t used a disposable pad, and I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve used a tampon.)

. . . . . . . . . .

If this list of links doesn’t keep you busy at least until the predictably lame halftime show, then try curling up alone in your room with a good book. Or if the hooting and hollering from the TV room get to be too much, you could always try a movie or the mall. Neither should be too crowded.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

